Mini Tofu Scramble Breakfast Pies

I’ve been on a serious culinary kick lately, and I couldn’t be more stoked on it.

Sunday it was butternut squash ravioli (not homemade, not gonna lie) with kale and baby bella mushrooms in a garlic sauce. Monday and Tuesday it was different hummus variations (the trick is: an unreasonable amount of garlic). Last night it was Vegan Curried Split Pea Soup with Roasted Cauliflower (which I still haven’t eaten, actually), and I had every intention of writing up that recipe for you guys (and probably still will). However, over the course of the day another, more enticing idea crept inside my brain and wrought havoc until I finally decided to give in and give it a go.

Mini Tofu Scramble Breakfast Pies

This wasn’t entirely my idea, to be quite honest. I had in my head that I wanted to make a tofu scramble at some point, probably this weekend, and then I stumbled across this recipe: Tofu Veggie Hash Brown Breakfast Pockets. Then, I noticed my brand spankin’ new muffin tin I got as a Christmas gift (thanks, Jenn!!) and it all started coming together in this mish-mashed mind of mine. I figured I could whip these up tonight, freeze ‘em, and have a quick, easy, healthy, and (hopefully) deliciously awesome breakfast to take to work in the mornings which, let’s be serious, is something we could probably all use. Monday through Friday my breakfast typically consists of iced coffee – yes, even in the dead of winter – and actually, that’s generally it. Sometimes I’ll have a piece of toast or something. So really, this recipe epiphany was much needed, because you know what they say… breakfast is the tits.

And how could you go wrong?! It’s got grains, it’s got greens, it’s got protein, it’s got whatever the crap is in sweet potatoes that make ‘em healthy (I forget and I am not looking it up), and most important of all, it’s got love. I know some of you out there are gonna read this and think “Gross! Tofu for breakfast?! You monster!” but guess what? Fuck you, it’s fabulous. Give it a shot, ya pansy ass. You could probably stand to lose a few, anyway.

 Crust

  • 1 and 3/4 cups wheat flour (more for dusting)
  • 2-3 Tbsp ground flax meal
  • 3/4 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 stick vegan butter, softened
  • 1/2 -1 cup cold water, added bit by bit until desired consistency is achieved

Sift through and mix dry ingredients. Add melted “butter” and start adding water. Kneed until you have a nice little ball of slightly sticky, but kneedable, dough and stick in the freezer for about half an hour (or shove in the fridge if you’re not gonna use it right away – this makes it easier to roll out/finagle).

Filling

  • 1 block tofu – pressed, drained, and crumbled (I like to do this, freeze, and then drain again to get a nice consistency)
  • 3 cups chopped spinach
  • 4 medium cloves finely chopped garlic
  • 1 large sweet potato, cubed, microwaved, and lightly mashed
  • 1/3 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1 tsp. each of turmeric and cayenne pepper
  • Dash or two of hot sauce (optional)


  • Heat up a bit of olive oil in a skillet and add the tofu, spinach, and garlic. Sauté for seriously, only a minute or two. The thing is – you’re gonna be adding this mixture into something that’s gonna be baked for a bit, so you don’t want to cook the “innards” thoroughly (as you would in, say, a stir fry… or, uh, straight up tofu scrambles).
  • When all that jazz is sauteed, add the minced/mashed sweet potato
  • Take your dough out of the freezer/fridge and need it out really thin, and line your muffin tin with said… dough layer. Individually, that is. Like… okay, kneed out small circles and fit them to mold your muffin tin – there ya go
  • Add the tofu mixture to your adorable little mini pie crusts and, with the same rolled out dough, make little tops for said pies and crimp down with a fork.
  • Bake for 15-20 minutes and you’re golden! (literally!)

And I think that’s it! If you make it and it sucks it’s probably your fault.

In other news, I cannot for the life of me stop listening to this song, which should be blasted at full volume while baking. RIP, David Gold:

Leave a Reply

