Tofu Taco Tuesday

It’s true, it may be Wednesday now… but yesterday was Tuesday. Taco Tuesday.

I’m sure I’m not alone in that I tend to cook more in cooler months. My place doesn’t have central air or anything fancy pants like that, so the kitchen can get sweltering this time of year even without the use of the oven. Besides that, and I’m sure I’m not alone in this either, who wants to eat heavy comfort food on an 80 degree day? Don’t get me wrong; I’m counting down the days until the seasons change and the weather deems it acceptable to make my beloved baked stuffed squash. But right now the days are longer, the sun is oppressive and I’m sticking to light meals. I mean, I gotta keep my figure “non-beached whale-esque” for random beach trips anyway, right? C’mon.

It occurred to me the other night that I hadn’t made tacos in a while. And then I started to really want tacos. And then I decided that I wanted to do something completely different from the black bean and corn shebang I usually crank out when tacos pop into my head. They’re good! But… ordinary and predictable. It had been a while since I had experimented with recipes, to boot – the stars had aligned. Spinach and Tofu? Light, healthy, different, and super easy. Sounds about right.

I won’t lie – I used some pre-packaged chili seasoning instead of my own custom spice blend. It was on hand, staring me in the face!! I willsay, though, I felt I had somewhat redeemed myself after effortlessly whipping up the most AMAZING homemade “re-fried” beans on record (in my mouth) which, I mean, I know isn’t saying a lot; people don’t usually jump for joy, foaming at the mouth in the moments leading up to their unabashed, gluttonous consumption of… refried beans. But that shit was on POINT. In fact, I have leftovers and I’m totally digging into it with some tortilla chips later on, fat kid style. Anyway:

Chopped Spinach and Tofu Tacos

1 package extra firm tofu – drained and cut into super small cubes (cute!)
3 cups spinach, chopped and washed
3 -4 cloves pressed or chopped garlic
A heaping handful of grape tomatoes, cut into quarters
1 package corn tortillas
Half a packet of McCormick Tex-Mex chili seasoning

Heat a bit of olive oil in a large pan on medium heat and add the tofu, cooking until lightly brown. Add the garlic and the seasoning and a bit of water (about 1 tbsp) and stir. Now add the chopped spinach and cook until wilted and coated with seasoning mixture. Throw in tomatoes, remove from heat and mix even more. You want the tomatos to be warm and a bit wrinkled from the heat, like your fingertips after staying in the bath too long. Now…

Awesomely Good and Stupid Easy “Refried-Beans”

1 14 oz can pinto beans
2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
2 tbsp olive oil
Dash (or two, to taste) of each of the following: red chili powder, garlic powder, and salt

Drain and rinse the beans, and transfer into a small pot with a bit of water (about 2 tbsp) and the oil. Mix and press down as the beans cook, partially to check for tenderness, partially because you want to mush the beans. Add the remainder of the ingredients and stir until the liquid has been absorbed into the mixture and you have a chunky, bean-y paste. Who needs lard?! Gross!

And assemble! I started with the beans, added the tofu and threw in some cheese and sour cream I had on hand. See for yourself, in the worst fucking picture of food ever taken, ever:

Shove these Bad Larry’s in your face and wash ‘em down with some vodka sodas (with extra lime) and you’ve got yourself a party.

Note: Skyy Vodka now comes in Dragon Fruit and it is amazing. Mix with soda water and the juice of half a lime (not a slice, not a quarter… half) over ice and BOOM – mouthgasm. Trust me. That’s my jam at the moment.

That’s all for now! Until next time, wherein we take an in-depth look into why I’m still single and I blather on about how I’m going to die alone and penniless in a homeless shelter at the age of 43 after an unsuccessful attempt at starting a Doggy Daycare Center/Singles Bar called “Booze Hounds”.

2 responses to “Tofu Taco Tuesday

  1. 1. You should have another taco party!
    2. I like your use of “Bad Larry’s”.

  2. Yes! Those look awesome and I need to try them. Though I will probably sub black beans for pinto… I just like them better. And I second the taco party proposal.
    In other news, I just discovered your blog! It is excellent.

Leave a Reply

